How do I invalidate student assessment scores?

On CLI Engage, administrators and specialists have the ability to invalidate student assessment scores. Invalidating a student score will delete the record of a student’s assessment and enable the teacher to reassess the child. Scores must be invalidated per child, per measure.

Teachers do not have access to invalidate a student’s assessment score

Invalidated scores cannot be retrieved, so score invalidation should be done with utmost caution

Examples for score invalidation:

  • Teacher accidentally assessed the wrong child

  • Teacher accidentally assessed a child in the wrong language

  • Teacher accidentally assessed the wrong measure

  • Teacher accidentally assessed a child outside the guidance from their IEP

Prerequisites

You must be logged into CLI Engage

Your students must be rostered in CLI Engage

In the SCREENING, PROGRESS MONITORING AND OBSERVATION section of CLI Engage, you must see the assessment. If you do not see this option, then open a help ticket.

You must be assigned to the class, school, or district, depending on the type of desired report and your account type

 Instructions

These instructions assume that you have already accessed the CLI Engage dashboard

  1. From the CLI Engage dashboard, go to the red banner labeled Screening, Progress Monitoring, and Observation

  2. Locate the assessment that needs to have a student's score invalidated

  3. Click on the assessment that needs to have a student's score invalidated

  4. In the Community/District: field, enter the name of of the CLI Engage Community

  5. In the School: field, enter the name of the school

  6. Click the Search button

  7. Locate the student's class

  8. Click on the button that corresponds to the student's class

  9. Locate the student's name

  10. Click the play button icon next to the student's name

  11. Locate the measure to be invalidated

  12. Click on the score

  13. Click the Invalidate This Assessment button

  14. A dialog box will appear with The assessment result will be deleted and cannot be restored once its been invalidated. Do you want to continue?

  15. Click either Invalidate or No

When you click Invalidate, the score will be permanently deleted and cannot be recovered